A Mug of Me
Stiffer than a Shot of Espresso

girls need more clothes on

2005-02-23
so yesterday i disciplined a student on her clothing, or lack of it. i hate doing this: 1) i feel like hypocrite. i enjoy seeing more not less, and 2) it's not my place -it's the damned parents. so, after several days of wide-open midriffs and low-to-ground hiphuggers, i said something. it felt very weird for the both of us. but my point got across and i emailed other teachers to chime in, and as well as asking admin. to back me up ont he issue.

today, the young lady is better covered, but she is so obviously paranoid. paranoid around ME. i see her tugging her shirt down when she comes towards me or walking away from me. i guess she doesn't want me to see more than i already have, which is alot.

this is a smart, beautiful girl. i can think a dozen reasons why she doesn't need to flaunt herself like this...

this makes me feel like such a hypocrite , again. when did i start wanting girls covered? and when did i actually TELL them to put clothes on? now yes, she's a child, and yes i am a teacher. but in my mind this is all weird, twilight zone-ish....

i wish her mother had stepped in...not me...i don't want her hating this class just cause i made her put more clothes on.

sorry for the rant.

Listening to:

Reading:

Feeling:

12:40 p.m. ::
prev :: next