A Mug of Me
Stiffer than a Shot of Espresso

Kevin Smith speaks to me...

2005-04-19
Dogma

BARTLEBY

I was dumped once. More or less.

BETHANY

It's terrible, isn't it? Don't you constantly question your value - like why was I so easy to cast aside? Didn't I have merit?

BARTLEBY

And you wonder if the other party's going to come to their senses and call you back.

BETHANY

The worst is that I still think like a couple. After all these years, I still have the 'we' mentality.

BARTLEBY

Mine grew out of what was really a stupid misunderstanding. A misunderstanding that grew into a total withdrawal of communication. Abandonment. And even though it was years ago, there's not a day that goes by that I don't wonder what went wrong. And then it hits me - I was replaced by someone. A lot of someones.

BETHANY

And they always tell you it'll hurt less with time...

BARTLEBY

...when actually, it hurts more.

BETHANY

(beat)

You know what we need? We need some drinks. A lot of drinks. Do you agree?

BARTLEBY

Whole-heartedly.

Listening to:

Reading:

Feeling:

9:10 a.m. ::
prev :: next